Who will be eligible for DACA?


There are 6 criteria that young people will need to meet in order to qualify for DACA. Applicants must:

  1. Have arrived in the U.S. when under 16 years old; 

  2. Have been under the age of 31 as of June 15, 2012;

  3. Have entered the U.S. unlawfully before June 15, 2007 or have been in the U.S. without lawful status on June 15, 2012;

  4. Have been present in the U.S. continuously from at least June 15, 2007 until the date of their application and have been present on June 15, 2012.

  5. Be currently in school or have graduated from high school or have a GED certificate or have been honorably discharged from a branch of the U.S. Armed Services.

  6. They must not have been convicted of a felony, a “significant misdemeanor,” multiple misdemeanor offenses, or otherwise pose a threat to national security or public safety.  All young people applying for DACA will have to pass a background check.

¿Ha sido útil?/Was this helpful?

Showing 1 reaction

Own the Dream: Guide for Immigrant Youth/Unete al Sueno: Guia para Jovenes Inmigrantes